Shasta-Trinity National Forest Updated:04/2023

The Shasta-Trinity National Forest, the largest in California, was established by President Theodore Roosevelt’s proclamation of 1905. Initially, there were two forests; the Trinity National Forest (headquartered in Weaverville) and the Shasta National Forest (headquartered in Mt. Shasta City). The two forests were combined into one in 1954.
The Shasta-Trinity encompasses 2.1 million acres with over 6,278 miles of streams and rivers. It ranges from 1,000 in elevation (Shasta Lake and its general area) to the spectacular Mt. Shasta with its impressive elevation of 14,162 feet.
The Shasta-T includes portions of five designated Wilderness Areas: Castle Crags, Chanchellulla, Mount Shasta, Trinity Alps and Yolla Bolly-Middle Eel. The main branch of the Trinity River is a designated Wild and Scenic River which runs through the forest. A 154 mile section of the Pacific Crest Trail runs in an east - west direction across the Shasta-Trinity National Forest. The Trinity Heritage and the Trinity River Scenic Byways are two scenic drives in the area.
Shasta Lake's 365 miles of shoreline made-up of many arms and inlets make it a paradise for explorers and boaters alike. The four major arms of the lake, Sacramento, McCloud, Squaw Creek and Pit offer spectacular scenery as well as unusual geologic and historic areas of interest.
Lewiston Lake lies just downstream from Trinity Dam and just north of the town of Lewiston and is a constant level lake. It lies within the Whiskeytown-Shasta-Trinity National Recreation Area.
From a height of 7,309 feet, Little Mt. Hoffman offers a spectacular view of Mt. Shasta, Mt. Lassen, Mt. McLoughlin and a variety of other interesting landforms. From the Tulelake Basin in the north to the Fall River valley in the south, the 360 degree view offers a peek at some of Northern California's most unique and beautiful scenery. Located east of majestic Mt. Shasta, in the lavaflow area of Medicine Lake, is the Little Mt. Hoffman fire lookout. Restored to its original character, the lookout is now being offered as an overnight retreat for personal recreation use.
The huge Shasta-Trinity National Forest offers a wide range of recreational activities. Some of these include hiking, backpacking, mountain climbing, horseback riding, camping, boating, fishing, sightseeing, downhill skiing, snowboarding, cross-country skiing, and snowmobiling.

REMINDER: This listing is a free service of CaliforniaLandCAN.
Shasta-Trinity National Forest is not employed by or affiliated with the California Land Conservation Assistance Network, and the Network does not certify or guarantee their services. The reader must perform their own due diligence and use their own judgment in the selection of any professional.


Contact Shasta-Trinity National Forest

3644 Avtech Parkway
Redding, CA  96002
Phone: (530) 226-2500

Service Area

Services provided in:
  • Shasta County, California