Lahontan Regional Water Quality Control Board Updated:06/2013

The primary responsibility for the protection of water quality in California rests with the State Water Resources Control Board (State Board) and nine Regional Water Quality Control Boards. The State Board sets statewide policy for the implementation of state and federal laws and regulations. The Regional Boards adopt and implement Water Quality Control Plans (Basin Plans) which recognize regional differences in natural water quality, actual and potential beneficial uses, and water quality problems associated with human activities.
The jurisdiction of the California Regional Water Quality Control Board, Lahontan Region (Regional Board) extends from the Oregon border to the northern Mojave Desert and includes all of California east of the Sierra Nevada crest. The name of the Region is derived from prehistoric Lake Lahontan, which once covered much of the State of Nevada. Most of the waters of the North Lahontan Basin drain into closed basins which were previously part of Lake Lahontan. Waters of the South Lahontan Basin also drain into closed basin remnants of prehistoric lakes.
The Lahontan Regional Board is a seven-member decision making body appointed by the Governor. The Board holds regular meetings, typically monthly at different sites throughout the Region. Its day-to-day work is carried out by a technical and administrative support civil service staff under an Executive Officer appointed by the Board. There are two Regional Board offices, at South Lake Tahoe and Victorville.
Victorville Office
14440 Civic Drive, Suite 200
Victorville, CA 92392
(760) 241-6583
FAX (760) 241-7308 

Other Contact Informatioin:

Contact Lahontan Regional Water Quality Control Board


Contact Lahontan Regional Water Quality Control Board

Lauri Kemper
South Lake Tahoe Office
2501 Lake Tahoe Blvd
So. Lake Tahoe, CA  96150
Phone: (530) 542-5400
Fax: (530) 544-2271

Service Area

Services provided in:
  • Alpine County, California
  • El Dorado County, California
  • Inyo County, California
  • Kern County, California
  • Lassen County, California
  • Los Angeles County, California
  • Modoc County, California
  • Mono County, California
  • Nevada County, California
  • Placer County, California
  • San Bernardino County, California
  • Sierra County, California